New Music: Fine Points “Astral Season”

Fine Points
Dreamy “Astral Season” is the fuzzed-out first single off debut album Hover (out July 17 on Dine Alone Records) from California psych-rockers Fine Points.

Not only is “Astral Season” a gem off the album, it’s also its opening track, setting up the record for what one can only expect will be a cosmic journey through some West Coast psych-land trip. Crystalline guitars build up dreamy textures before whirling into a stoner-melter jam. In this astral dreamworld, “nothing really matters anymore,” sings Fine Points’ Evan Reiss.

Having spent the last year working on material for Hover—recorded in an abandoned church-turned studio in Oakland called New Telos—”Astral Season,” as with most of the record, is very much a product of its surroundings. Fine Points succeed at conveying a strong sense of place tied to their sound—think Big Sur’s redwoods and Pfeiffer State Beach’s ebbing waves below the warmth of a hazy California sun.

Fine Points are made up of Bay Area locals Evan Reiss (vocals/guitar), Tyler Green (bass), Josh Unger (drums), and Matt Holliman (lead guitar). No strangers to the NorCal psych scene, Reiss and Holliman also make up half of Sleepy Sun. In the past few months, they’ve been opening for the likes of White Fence, Morgan Delt, and Mikal Cronin, and will play host to a few record release shows starting in July, which we’re totally looking forward to!

Listen to “Astral Season” below.